Weight release

So, like I said earlier, I am currently on a quest to release some weight to at least get into the running (ha! No pun intended) for the military internship. I seriously considered NutriSystem or something like it – fuck my food ethics and morals – I need that internship! But then as I considered the money I’d already spent on my CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) share and all the food I’d have because of it, I decided I’d be better off making up my own meal plans.

Also, I have a number of food “things” that make those kinds of plans not very useful. I’m a vegetarian working towards veganism. I don’t like to eat too much bread or gluten. I am opposed to processed foods. I believe in putting my dollar where my mouth is so I buy mostly organic, sustainable, local foods. I don’t like to eat in restaurants as these generally violate most of these principals. These food things are positive factors, however, if I want to design and follow a healthy meal plan, though, right?

More about me. I’m overweight. Not just by the military standards, in general, I am overweight. I have been for the last 10 years. While this is true, it is also true that I have eaten following many of those food things for more than the last 10 years. And I am a runner who has always liked to work with weights. I am not hanging around on the couch eating bonbons, is all I’m saying. And I have been to my doctor about my weight a number of times, too.

Of course there are exceptions. I had a number of injuries in the last year that cut my running way back. I was married for a while and my eating habits were definitely less healthy in those days. I often get crazy sugar cravings while having migraines. And I give in, too, sometimes. I’m no angel.

But I never really tried anything related to counting calories – in fact, I always scoffed a bit about it. “I work out!” I would say. “I run!” “I eat healthier than most Americans – what difference would counting calories make??” Yes, then about 3 or 4 years ago I met with a personal trainer who heard me say such things and said, “ok, lets look at what you ate today.”

I proudly told him about my meals – which included a sort of pasta salad. It was mostly fresh veggies, carrots, broccoli, mushrooms. There was some pasta, but more veggies than pasta. As I recall it had some kind of dressing I had made – something with fake sour cream. And almonds. The personal trainer was kind of naming out the average calories for what I was telling him and I was doing ok and then I mentioned the almonds. Which I had tossed in for crunch, and hardly considered part of the “salad.”

How many almonds?” he asked.

I don’t know. A handful?”

So, like half a cup? Quarter cup?”

I went for the quarter cup, since I was sure that sounded better. I had also snacked in my car on almonds that day. I did a lot of driving for work and I always had sunflower seed and almonds to munch on. I considered them a healthy snack. I agreed that that day I had eaten probably a half cup. If I was fudging, I was fudging down.

So…anyone want to guess how many calories in a half cup of almonds? No?

Here it is. Half a cup of roasted almonds have 411 calories! 280 of those are from…FAT. Yeah, ok, so good fat, bad fat, healthier than a candy bar, better than a frappuccino, maybe. But if you are trying to cut calories, a “handful” of nuts can seriously screw with your day!

I started just checking my calories on fitday.com – a free service that is pretty easy to use. It was easy to see how my “healthy” food choices were not working well for me. As I recall, I dropped a few pounds right away, just by keeping track. I didn’t stick to it, though.

Now, like I said, I am back on the band wagon. I am working with a personal trainer again, am injury free so my runs are happening and I am keeping track again on fitday.

2 thoughts on “Weight release

  1. Good for you. I’m in a similar situation. I don’t eat too badly and am working with a personal trainer but would really benefit from losing some weight. I just told myself – Okay, tomorrow. Since today was Father’s day and I didn’t want to hold back. Good luck.

  2. Thanks. Yes, well, I took some kids out as a gift to their dad and was very careful and only ate a baked potato at Wendys (their choice obviously). Then I had popcorn and Reese’s Pieces in the theater. I did eat better for dinner, yummy pasta that I brought back from Italy with me. And some toast. Ok, ok, I didn’t really need the toast. Like you said, tomorrow is another day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

