Disappearing Blog

I was puttering away in my kitchen, thinking, as I often do, in blogspeak. I was composing this fun blog in my head about how much I like to try new recipes, about how much I like making my own sweet foods, thus allowing me to avoid the whole processedsugaroreonutella death cycle, blah blah blah.

I turned to the Minimalist Baker, because she’s my favorite at the moment. And I found these Peanut Butter and Jelly Snack Bars. Who wouldn’t want to make/eat these?!

pb and j bars.jpg

They are vegan and gluten free – and I added no sugar to them. They do include some doctored up strawberry jam. Which is notable because I don’t actually buy jam, mostly because I don’t buy much bread. In fact, the whole reason I looked up this recipe is that I “inherited” some jam when I volunteered to clear out a community refrigerator.

The thing is, I hate to throw away food. And there were several very nice kinds of strawberry jam in this fridge. Like, no sugar added, bought from a fancy homemade yummies stand. The thing is, they were out of date (or I would have left them in there!). Two were dated 2014. But they were closed up tight! And there was no fur on top or funny smell…so I brought them home. But, now, there they sat, only in my fridge. As I considered what to do with them, I thought – if they are dangerous – cooking will probably help. I’d like to note that I am not, in any way, suggesting anyone else eat expired food.

So, I started out, full of hope and a desire for sweets. I stuck very close to the original recipe, since this was my first time doing it. After I got halfway through the crust I realized I don’t actually own an 8×8 pan any more. Oops. However, since I already had everything going, I…kept going. Everything smelled delicious! But when it came time to pour the strawberry mixture on the baked crust…

image

Yes, well. You can see now why I needed that pan. With the sides. Let me say for the record, I have never aspired to food blogger fame. I have tried to take beautiful pictures of food – believe me, my food tends to taste better than it looks. But when I looked at this mess, I really was saddened. And my imaginary blog – poof! – disappeared.

Meanwhile, I followed directions, which were to put “it” back into the oven for 15 minutes or so and then to let cool for 3 hours. Usually that is a direction that makes me laugh, because, who is waiting 3 hours to taste a baked good? Not me. But this one, I figured, could wait. I used some good ingredients, though, so I thought I’d put it in the fridge before heading to bed (cuz I can’t possibly throw it out) and see if maybe I could freeze it and break it up, use it as crumbles or some kind of topping for something else.

Today, when I got home from work, there it was, in the fridge. I figured I better do something with it. I took it out and cut a piece off. Woah. Stunningly delicious. And just like that, the blog is back!

image

Leave a Reply

